Tag Archives: Womens Fiction

Keepsake, by Kristina Riggle

Keepsake is a book that covers a real issue. The issue has even been covered in a television show named Hoarders. This will be another brief review that states the important aspects without irrelevant additions due to time constraints.

Synopsis:

For her previous novels (Things We Didn’t Say, The Life You’ve Imagined, Real Life & Liars), author Kristina Riggle has garnered fabulous reviews and established herself as a rapidly rising star of contemporary women’s fiction. In Keepsake, she explores that most complicated of relationships, as two sisters raised by a hoarder deal with old hurts and resentments, and the very different paths their lives have taken. As always, Riggle approaches important topics poignantly and honestly—including hoarding and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) in her remarkable Keepsake—while writing with real emotional power and compassion about families and their baggage. For readers of Katrina Kittle and Elin Hildenbrand, Kristina Riggle’s Keepsake is a treasure.

Review:

The book wasn’t horrible, but it tends to become dull in places. Trish is a hoarder. I got that from the beginning. After a while, I grew tired of hearing about the stacks of storage containers, or how she resisted parting with anything. I felt the emotion in the book was what carried it through. The family tensions and dynamics were well done, but the repetitive hoarding sequences wore on me. I never liked the television show for the same reason. Once the camera panned the piles of ‘stuff’ it went from disbelief to disgust. I didn’t need to see one half hour of it. *A note: I would absolutely read another title from this author as I felt the writing itself was good. It was the subject matter that turned me off.


Left Neglected… by Lisa Genova

Earlier this week I read and reviewed Still Alice, by Lisa Genova. I enjoyed it so much, I went out and bought Left Neglected and Love Anthony, by the same author even though reading two books by the same author in succession is something I rarely do.

Left Neglected

Left Neglected

Although my review of Still Alice was a clean sweep, I loved, well…. pretty much all of it, this review will not be quite as glowing. That does not mean I didn’t like the book, it just means I didn’t like it as much.

The review:

I’ll begin with what I did like. Once again, I like Lisa Genova’s writing style. If you’ve ever read a book with either stale expressions and metaphors or worse, nonsensical metaphors, (Her eyes grew as large as the dinner plates my Aunt Bess used for holiday meals), you’ll appreciate Lisa’s crisp approach. She is a master at imagery. For that reason alone I would rate her book high.

I wasn’t fond of the book for the first 100 pages. I’m not a fan of prologues and I’m less of a fan of dreams sequences, especially as an opening. And if that weren’t enough, I felt I read 100 pages of how busy Sarah and Bob’s life was and how she worked 70 to 80 hours a week (even though she made her morning commute between say seven and eight o’clock and was home by 6:30 to eat dessert with the kids. The math didn’t add up). Much of the beginning was a gross exaggeration of how busy she (they) were, told as if to impress the reader.

But, I had signed on to read the entire book, so I plodded along. I’m glad I did. The last 2/3 of the book improved dramatically. From about the point of her accident. Once again, the research she put into writing this book was evident. I had never heard of hemispatial neglect – or left neglect – so it was both an enjoyable work of fiction and a medical lesson in one. One might think that both Still Alice and Left Neglected share too many similarities, injured or handicapped woman with a non-understanding husband, but it didn’t read like that. I didn’t care for John, the husband in Still Alice, but I found Bob, in Left Neglected, likable.

I guess my only real dislike aside from the opening was the perfectionism in Sarah – the perfect wife, the perfect vice president, the perfect patient. We all know a type A personality, but total type A’s can get annoying in large doses. Fortunately, when she accepts the weight of her disability, she becomes much less perfect, which in turn makes her much more likable. Even the strained relationship with her mother worked itself out once she realized she wasn’t perfect.

Left Neglected is about a woman learning to live an entirely new way of life: her acceptance, her challenges, and her triumphs. There are no surprise endings. Although it’s almost entirely predictable after page 100, it is an enjoyable predictability.

I would have given it 3-stars due to a beginning I felt was lacking, but the rest of the book and the wonderful writing style bumped it up to a 4-star read. Would I recommend it? Yes. But if you haven’t read Still Alice, I would go in that direction first.

 

Kathy Reinhart is the author of the award-winning Lily White Lies and The Red Strokes.

Lily White Lies

Lily White Lies

“All feedback is a gift, even when it comes wrapped in ugly paper.” ~Kathy Reinhart 


Lily White Lies – FREE!

Mark your calendars!

Sunday July 22nd, 2012 – One day only and for the first time

The award-winning and 5-star rated and reviewed

LILY WHITE LIES

FREE for Kindle

In anticipation of my upcoming release, THE RED STROKES, I am happy to offer my award-winning novel, LILY WHITE LIES for free on Amazon. I have given away 3000 copies of my first novel, MISSOURI IN A SUITCASE (under the pen name Nova Scott) and hope to surpass that number with this giveaway.

All I ask is that you take a quick minute to either rate it, review it or drop me a quick note to tell me what you thought. As with anything, positive feedback and comments not only help with sales, but more importantly, let authors know if we’re captivating our audience. Your opinions mean more than you know….

But, even if you can’t leave a word or two – I hope you’ll enjoy the book… on me!


K.E. Garvey

The Official Website

People We Know

They're more interesting than you think.

Diane Gallagher Photos

Photos taken around the world...

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Jean Lee's World

Finder of Fantasy & Adventure in Her Own Backyard

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

The Writersaurus

Adventures in Writing, Editing, and Publishing

davidjrogersftw

Starting life Fresh: Living to Win

Sarah Lea Stories

Where brevity is literary minimalism®

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

Kristen Lamb's Blog

We Are Not Alone

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Drinkers with Writing Problems

Literature by the Lit Up

Guild Of Dreams

Build Your World and They Will Come

Ink Drop Interviews & Reviews

The Sister Site of Author K.E. Garvey

Women.Who.Write.

“Nothing stinks like a pile of unpublished writing.” – Sylvia Plath

Writer Unboxed

about the craft and business of fiction

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

"Blog This" with the Lily White Liar

Thoughts, Observations & the Occasional Rant

%d bloggers like this: